CardioMEMS HF SystemWhat to know
30-second read
For Cardiology
- Who
- Adults with NYHA Class II or III heart failure who already have an implanted CardioMEMS pressure sensor.
- What it does
- Lets patients view their own pulmonary artery pressure readings on a phone via the new CardioGuide HF app.
- Evidence
- Rests on CardioMEMS’ existing CHAMPION/GUIDE-HF record (≈28% fewer HF hospitalizations); the app itself has no outcomes data yet.
- What’s different
- A Dynamic Treatment Plan lets clinicians push protocol-based medication-adjustment instructions straight to the app.
- Key consideration
- DTP automates instructions, not judgment — and the platform has had two software-related recalls since late 2024.
- Availability
- Approved 5 October 2026; Abbott says CardioGuide HF and DTP launch “later this year,” no date or price set.
Practice impactBuild the protocol before switching on
A software update for practices already running a CardioMEMS program, not a reason to implant more sensors. The real work is building a Dynamic Treatment Plan clinicians trust before routing instructions through a patient's phone.
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration approved updates to Abbott’s CardioMEMS HF System on 5 October 2026, clearing two new software features delivered through a companion smartphone app. Abbott says the CardioGuide HF app and its Dynamic Treatment Plan feature will reach patients “later this year,” with no exact date or price announced.
What this approval does, and does not, touch
CardioMEMS has been on the market since 2014: a sensor the size of a paperclip, implanted in the pulmonary artery during a right-heart catheterization, that transmits daily pressure readings a care team uses to catch worsening heart failure before symptoms do. Until now, those readings lived in Merlin.net, Abbott’s clinician-facing portal — patients never saw their own numbers. The approval covers two things layered on top of that existing hardware: the CardioGuide HF app, which gives patients their own view of pulmonary artery pressure trends on iOS or Android, and Dynamic Treatment Plan (DTP), which lets a clinician write a medication-adjustment protocol in advance and have the app deliver it automatically once a patient’s pressure crosses a defined threshold.
What it does not do is change who gets the implant. CardioMEMS’ indication — NYHA Class II or III heart failure, with a heart-failure hospitalization in the past year and/or elevated natriuretic peptides — has stood since a February 2022 label expansion and is untouched by this approval. A physician reading the headline as a new population or a new procedure would be reading it wrong: this is a PMA supplement for software that sits on top of a device already implanted in an existing patient population.
The evidence this update is borrowing, not generating
CardioMEMS’ clinical case rests on two trials, neither of which this update adds to. CHAMPION, the basis for the original 2014 approval, found roughly a 28% reduction in heart-failure hospitalizations with pressure-guided management in NYHA Class III patients. GUIDE-HF, the basis for the 2022 Class II expansion, randomized about 1,000 patients and missed its overall primary endpoint — investigators and Abbott attribute much of that to COVID-19 disruption, and a pre-pandemic analysis showed a statistically significant reduction in death or hospitalization, a reading some independent commentators have called encouraging but not conclusive given the post hoc nature of the adjustment.
Neither CardioGuide HF nor Dynamic Treatment Plan has outcomes data of its own. The FDA approval is a determination that the software performs its stated function safely, not a finding that patient-facing access to pressure readings or automated instruction delivery improves outcomes beyond what clinician-only monitoring already achieves. That is a reasonable basis for approving a communication and workflow tool; it is not evidence a practice should cite to justify the feature to a skeptical patient or payer.
What Dynamic Treatment Plan actually automates
DTP does not let an app decide anything. A clinician configures the plan in Merlin.net in advance — which pressure change triggers which instruction, for which medication, at what dose — and the software’s job is to deliver that pre-approved instruction to the patient’s phone the moment the trigger condition is met, rather than waiting for a clinic visit or a staff member to review the trend and place a call. The judgment is made once, at protocol-writing time; the automation is in the delivery, not the decision.
That distinction matters for how a practice should treat the feature. A poorly written protocol — a threshold set too sensitively, an instruction that does not account for a concurrent medication change, a plan nobody has reviewed since the patient’s last titration — will deliver a wrong instruction exactly as reliably as a well-written one delivers a correct one. The software cannot catch a bad protocol; only the clinician who wrote it, and whoever reviews it periodically, can.
Where CardioMEMS sits among implantable pressure monitors
U.S. implantable heart-failure pressure sensors
| CardioMEMS HF System | Cordella PA Sensor | |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | Abbott | Endotronix |
| U.S. status | PMA since 2014; this software supplement approved 5 Oct 2026 | PMA approved June 2024 |
| Indication | NYHA Class II or III, hospitalized in the past year and/or elevated natriuretic peptides | NYHA Class III |
| Patient-facing data access | New: CardioGuide HF app (pending launch) | Not reported in public materials reviewed for this story |
| Pivotal evidence | CHAMPION; GUIDE-HF (mixed primary endpoint) | PROACTIVE-HF |
Cordella particulars from Endotronix's June 2024 FDA approval announcement and public PROACTIVE-HF reporting; verify current indications and features against each company's own current labeling before prescribing or referring.
A software history worth keeping in view
CardioMEMS’ electronics have had two FDA-recorded recalls in the past two years, both software-related rather than implant failures. In late 2024, a configuration-file update caused some Patient Electronics Systems to read from an outdated file, risking incorrect pressure display. In early 2025, FDA opened a Class II recall over radiated radiofrequency emissions from the Patient and Hospital Electronics Systems that exceeded permitted limits — a potential interference risk for other implanted cardiac devices such as pacemakers and defibrillators in the vicinity. Neither recall affected the implanted sensor itself, and Abbott has not reported adverse events tied to either issue.
That history does not disqualify CardioGuide HF or DTP. It is a reason a cardiology practice adopting a feature that automatically delivers medication instructions to a patient’s phone should build in a way to notice when the software is wrong — a periodic clinician spot-check of readings against the app’s display, a clear patient instruction to call if a reading looks implausible, before leaning on automated delivery as a substitute for a human reviewing the trend.
Coverage follows the implant, not the app
CardioMEMS billing is well established and unaffected by this approval. Implantation bills under CPT 33289 alongside HCPCS C2624 for the device itself; remote monitoring of the readings bills under CPT 93264, covering up to 30 days at a time. As of a January 2025 National Coverage Determination, CMS covers implantable pulmonary artery pressure sensors for heart failure management under Coverage with Evidence Development — meaning Medicare payment is conditioned on the patient being enrolled in a CMS-approved registry or study, with that enrollment documented on the claim.
Abbott has not described CardioGuide HF or Dynamic Treatment Plan as a new billable service, and nothing in the approval announcement suggests a new code is coming. The practical reading for now: a practice already billing for CardioMEMS implantation and remote monitoring should expect the app and DTP to ride on that existing reimbursement, not add a line item, until Abbott or CMS says otherwise.
What changes in a heart-failure practice
- No new patient-selection work. The implant candidacy criteria are unchanged; this is a workflow layer for patients already carrying a sensor.
- A protocol-writing task before activation. Dynamic Treatment Plan is only as good as the thresholds and instructions a clinician configures in Merlin.net — budget time to write and periodically review those plans, not just to turn the feature on.
- Patient education shifts. Patients who can see their own pressure trend will ask about it; a practice should decide in advance what it wants a patient to do, and not do, with a number they have never previously seen.
- A verification habit, given the recall history. Build in a way for staff or patients to flag an implausible reading rather than treating every app-delivered instruction as self-evidently correct.
- No billing change to plan around — yet. Keep documenting CED registry enrollment on CardioMEMS claims as already required.
The honest summary is that this approval does not expand who benefits from CardioMEMS or prove the device works better than it already did — it hands an already-monitored population, and the clinicians who manage them, a faster channel for information that used to travel through a portal and a phone call. For a heart-failure practice, the work is in writing a Dynamic Treatment Plan worth trusting before the fastest channel becomes the only one anyone checks. Every story on this desk is filed by specialty on the For Physicians front.
How CardioMEMS got here, and what is next
- May 2014
Original PMA approval
CardioMEMS HF System (P100045) approved for NYHA Class III heart failure with a prior hospitalization, based on CHAMPION.
- Feb 2022
Indication expanded
PMA supplement S056 adds NYHA Class II patients, based on GUIDE-HF.
- Oct 2024 – Mar 2025
Two software recalls
A configuration-file display error and, separately, an FDA Class II recall over radiofrequency emissions.
- Jan 2025
CMS coverage determination
National Coverage Determination covers implantable PA pressure sensors under Coverage with Evidence Development.
- Jun 2026
CardioMEMS HERO launches
Next-generation patient reader device reaches the U.S. market.
- 5 Oct 2026
CardioGuide HF and DTP approved
FDA clears the patient-facing app and clinician-configured Dynamic Treatment Plan feature.
- Later 2026
Features launch
No confirmed date or pricing yet from Abbott.
Sources & further reading
- Abbott, “Abbott Receives FDA Approval for New CardioMEMS HF System Capabilities That Help Patients Engage in the Care of Their Heart Condition,” 5 October 2026. abbott.mediaroom.com
- FDA, Premarket Approval (PMA) database record P100045, CardioMEMS HF System — original approval and supplement history. accessdata.fda.gov
- FDA, “CardioMEMS HF System — P100045/S056,” Recently Approved Devices, 18 February 2022 (NYHA Class II indication expansion). fda.gov
- Abbott, CardioMEMS HF System clinical evidence summary (CHAMPION and GUIDE-HF). cardiovascular.abbott
- Abbott, CardioMEMS HF System reimbursement and coding guide (CPT 33289, HCPCS C2624, CPT 93264) and National Coverage Determination summary. cardiovascular.abbott
- Endotronix, “Endotronix Receives FDA Premarket Approval for Cordella PA Sensor System,” 24 June 2024 (comparator device, PROACTIVE-HF). dicardiology.com
undefined
Frequently asked questions
Does this change who is a candidate for a CardioMEMS implant?
No. The approval covers software features layered onto the existing CardioMEMS HF System — it does not touch the device's indication, which has stood since a February 2022 label expansion (PMA P100045/S056) at NYHA Class II or III heart failure with a hospitalization in the prior year and/or elevated natriuretic peptides. Patient selection is unchanged.
Who configures the Dynamic Treatment Plan, and can a patient's phone adjust their own medication?
The clinician configures it. Abbott describes DTP as letting care teams set up a personalized medication-adjustment plan tied to a patient's pressure trend in advance; when that trend is met, the app delivers the clinician's own pre-written instructions to the patient's phone. The app does not generate a new instruction on its own judgment, and nothing in Abbott's description suggests it adjusts a prescription without a clinician having approved that exact instruction beforehand.
Is there a new CPT code or added payment for CardioGuide HF or Dynamic Treatment Plan?
None has been announced. CardioMEMS implantation and remote monitoring already bill under existing codes (CPT 33289 and HCPCS C2624 for the implant; CPT 93264 for up to 30 days of remote pressure monitoring), and Abbott has not described CardioGuide HF or DTP as a separately billable service. Treat them, for now, as features of the monitoring a practice already performs and already bills.
