CorTec has won a second FDA Breakthrough Device Designation for Brain Interchange, its fully implanted brain-computer interface, this time covering assistive communication — letting a person with paralysis in all four limbs control a computer cursor through neural signals alone. The Freiburg, Germany company announced the designation on 18 September 2026, five months after its first Breakthrough designation covered a different use of the same hardware: stroke motor rehabilitation.

Two designations, one implant

CorTec’s Brain Interchange is a fully implanted system: the electronics sit under the skin, with no wires or connectors breaking the skin, powered and read wirelessly through an external transceiver. Its current generation, Brain Interchange ONE, carries 32 recording and stimulation channels connected to “AirRay” electrodes — platinum-iridium contacts placed on the surface of the brain (a technique called electrocorticography, or ECoG) rather than penetrating into cortical tissue.

That single piece of hardware is now the basis for two separate FDA Breakthrough Device Designations covering two different jobs: electrical stimulation to support motor recovery after stroke (April 2026), and decoding neural signals to let a paralyzed user control a cursor (September 2026). Both uses have been demonstrated in the same patient at Harborview Medical Center in Seattle, the site of CorTec’s FDA-approved early feasibility study.

What CorTec is betting the platform on

One implant, two FDA designations

The same hardware now holds Breakthrough Device Designations for stroke rehabilitation and for assistive communication — a platform claim, not a single-indication one.

Surface electrodes, not penetrating ones

AirRay contacts read and stimulate from the brain’s surface rather than threading into tissue, the approach used by some competing implanted systems.

Fully implanted and wireless

No external wires or connectors cross the skin; the system is powered and read through wireless inductive telemetry for chronic use.

Brain Interchange in four numbers

2ndFDA Breakthrough Device Designation for the platform, after an April 2026 designation for stroke rehabilitation
32recording and stimulation channels on the current Brain Interchange ONE implant
3patients implanted so far in the FDA-approved early feasibility study, as of April 2026
$2.44Bglobal brain-computer interface market in 2024, per Grand View Research

Figures from CorTec’s public announcements and Grand View Research’s BCI market report.

What the second designation actually covers

A Breakthrough Device Designation is not a clearance or an approval; it is a commitment from FDA to prioritized review and more frequent interaction with the agency as a company works toward one. CorTec’s new designation applies specifically to using Brain Interchange for assistive communication in people with non-progressive quadriplegia — paralysis affecting all four limbs that is not expected to worsen — who could use the implant to operate a computer independently rather than, or in addition to, the stroke-rehabilitation stimulation the first designation covers.

“This second designation confirms the platform strategy behind Brain Interchange. To our knowledge, only a handful of BCI companies worldwide, among them Neuralink and Paradromics, hold more than one FDA Breakthrough Device Designation, and no other system is designated for stroke motor rehabilitation.” Dr. Frank Desiere, Chief Executive Officer, CorTec — 18 September 2026 announcement

On the surface, not through it

The brain-computer interface field has settled into a handful of distinct approaches to the same problem: how to read and write neural signals without doing more harm than the device is meant to treat. CorTec’s surface electrodes sit against the cortex through an open craniotomy but do not penetrate brain tissue, a middle path between systems that thread electrodes directly into neurons and systems that avoid opening the skull altogether by riding into the brain’s blood vessels.

Four approaches to reading the brain

SystemElectrode placementRegulatory/trial statusWhat sets it apart
Brain Interchange (CorTec)Surface (ECoG) electrodes via open craniotomy; does not penetrate tissueTwo FDA Breakthrough Device Designations; early feasibility study underwayOne implant, bidirectional: therapy and cursor control on the same hardware
Neuralink (N1)Penetrating thread electrodes, robotically implantedActive human trials across multiple programsHigh channel count; robotic surgical placement
Synchron (Stentrode)Stent-mounted electrode delivered through a blood vessel; no craniotomyTargeting a pivotal trialAvoids opening the skull by using the vasculature
Precision Neuroscience (Layer 7)Thin-film surface electrode array via minimally invasive slit craniotomyInvestigationalNon-penetrating array delivered through a smaller cranial opening

From each company’s own announcements and public product descriptions; not a head-to-head clinical comparison.

The $2.4 billion market CorTec is betting on

Brain-computer interfaces, two forecasts to 2030 and beyond

$2.44B → $6.52B

Global brain-computer interface market, 2024 to 2030, per Grand View Research; Precedence Research puts 2025 at $2.94B, rising to $13.86B by 2035.

2024 (Grand View)$2.44B
2025 (Precedence)$2.94B
2030 (Grand View)$6.52B
2035 (Precedence)$13.86B

Sources: Grand View Research, Brain Computer Interface Market Size, Share & Trends Report · Precedence Research, Brain Computer Interface Market

Regulatory News outlook

With no BCI product broadly reimbursed yet, we expect designation breadth — not revenue — to be the clearest signal investors have this year that a platform like Brain Interchange is working across more than one indication.

How we got here: No company-specific revenue exists to model, so this is a qualitative read anchored only to the sector-wide figures above: Precedence Research’s 16.77% compound annual growth rate, applied to its own $3.33 billion 2026 base for four years, reaches roughly $6.2 billion by 2030 — within reach of Grand View Research’s separately modeled $6.52 billion 2030 estimate despite starting from a lower base figure.

Freiburg to Harborview, one implant at a time

From a German lab to two FDA designations

  1. 2010

    CorTec founded

    Founded in Freiburg, Germany, as a neurotechnology company developing implantable brain-interface hardware.

  2. 2024

    FDA IDE approval

    FDA approves an Investigational Device Exemption for an early feasibility study of Brain Interchange in chronic stroke patients.

  3. July 2025

    First human implant

    Brain Interchange is implanted in its first patient at Harborview Medical Center, Seattle — CorTec calls it the first human implantation of a BCI made in Germany.

  4. April 2026

    First Breakthrough Device Designation

    FDA designates Brain Interchange for stroke motor rehabilitation, and CorTec implants a third study patient the same month.

  5. 18 September 2026

    Second Breakthrough Device Designation

    FDA designates the same implant platform for assistive computer-cursor control in non-progressive quadriplegia.

  6. Not yet dated

    A pivotal trial

    CorTec has not disclosed a start date for a larger pivotal study beyond the ongoing early feasibility work.

What a fourth patient would prove

CorTec’s early feasibility study has implanted three patients as of its most recent public update, each adding evidence for a different claim: that the implant can deliver therapeutic stimulation, that its signal stays usable over time, and now that the same electrodes can decode intent well enough for cursor control. A fourth patient, or a larger pivotal trial, would be the next test of whether those results generalize beyond a small, closely studied group — the step between a Breakthrough Device Designation and an FDA submission.

  • Trial site: Harborview Medical Center, Seattle, with University of Washington School of Medicine investigators.
  • Two designations, one hardware platform: stroke motor rehabilitation (April 2026) and assistive communication (September 2026).
  • Not yet public: CorTec has not disclosed a pivotal-trial timeline, a total funding figure, or quantitative cursor-control accuracy metrics beyond describing the implant’s signals as consistent over repeated sessions.

Sources & further reading

  1. CorTec GmbH, “CorTec Receives Second FDA Breakthrough Device Designation for Brain Interchange,” press release distributed via EQS Group, 18 September 2026. webdisclosure.com
  2. “US FDA Grants CorTec Second Breakthrough Device Designation for Brain-Computer Interface,” Citeline / Medtech Insight, 18 September 2026. insights.citeline.com
  3. “CorTec Receives Second FDA ‘Breakthrough Device’ Designation for Its Brain Computer Interface,” Robotics & Automation News, 18 September 2026. roboticsandautomationnews.com
  4. CorTec, “CorTec Receives FDA Breakthrough Device Designation for Its Brain Interchange System in Stroke Rehabilitation,” press release, 8 April 2026. globenewswire.com
  5. CorTec, “CorTec’s Brain Interchange BCI System Enables Stroke Patient to Control Computer With His Mind,” press release, 29 April 2026. globenewswire.com
  6. Grand View Research, “Brain Computer Interface Market Size, Share & Trends Analysis Report.” grandviewresearch.com
  7. Precedence Research, “Brain Computer Interface Market.” precedenceresearch.com

Regulatory News reports on public regulatory documents. It is not legal advice, and the primary sources above govern. If we have made an error, we will say so in public: see corrections.

Frequently asked questions

What did FDA grant CorTec?

A second Breakthrough Device Designation for its Brain Interchange brain-computer interface, announced 18 September 2026. This one covers using the implant for assistive communication — controlling a computer cursor with neural signals — in people with non-progressive quadriplegia (paralysis in all four limbs).

What was CorTec's first Breakthrough Device Designation for?

Granted in April 2026, the first designation covered a different use of the same implant platform: direct cortical stimulation to support motor recovery in people with chronic stroke-related impairment. CorTec describes Brain Interchange as the first BCI worldwide designated for stroke motor rehabilitation.

Is Brain Interchange FDA-cleared or approved?

No. A Breakthrough Device Designation speeds up FDA's review process and interactions once a company files for clearance or approval; it is not clearance or approval itself. Brain Interchange remains investigational, currently in an FDA-approved early feasibility study.

How does Brain Interchange differ from other brain-computer interfaces?

It is fully implanted with no external hardware, powered and read wirelessly, and uses electrodes that sit on the surface of the brain rather than penetrating into it — a different approach from penetrating-electrode systems and from blood-vessel-delivered systems that avoid a craniotomy entirely.