Marani Health has won FDA 510(k) clearance for its M•care System, a wearable that moves a prescribed test of fetal and maternal heart activity out of the clinic and onto a pregnant patient's body at home. The Twin Cities-area, Mayo Clinic-linked company announced the clearance on 24 September 2026, becoming the third maker of an FDA-cleared home fetal-monitoring wearable behind Nuvo Group and Bloomlife, and said it is targeting a 2027 commercial launch.

From a Mayo Clinic incubator to a cleared wearable

Marani's eight years to a first clearance

  1. 2017

    Ann Holder joins Mayo Clinic

    Joins Mayo Clinic's entrepreneur-in-residence program after a career that included a stint at Medtronic.

  2. 2018

    Company founded as Odonata Health

    Spun out of the Mayo Clinic program; later renamed Marani Health.

  3. 2021

    Two funding rounds

    A $3.7 million raise in February, then a $7.6 million seed round in November with OneAlphaNorth Capital, SWL Healthcare Ventures and TFX Capital.

  4. January 2023

    Pivotal study completed

    NCT05294211 compared M•wrap's fetal and maternal heart-rate readings against a standard hospital cardiotocography monitor, in pregnancies of 32 weeks' gestation and beyond.

  5. August 2023

    UnityPoint Health partnership

    Piloted M•care for remote monitoring of pregnancy-related hypertension.

  6. 2024

    A convertible note and a CDC grant

    A $7 million convertible note in May, alongside MedRisk founder Shelley Boyce joining the board, then a $5 million CDC grant in October with Ouma Health and the University of Wisconsin–Madison to study maternal and child health in underserved areas.

  7. 24 September 2026

    FDA clears the M•care System

    510(k) clearance for the MW-20 system, including the M•wrap wearable.

  8. 2027

    Commercial launch targeted

    Marani says it is preparing for commercial availability of the cleared system, with no more specific date disclosed.

A clinic test now cleared for home use

FDA cleared Marani Health's M•care System on 24 September 2026, covering the MW-20 platform and its M•wrap wearable — a band worn around a pregnant patient's abdomen that captures fetal heart rate, maternal heart rate and uterine contractions and streams them to a clinician through the M•care Provider Portal, according to the company's announcement. FDA's public 510(k) database had not yet indexed a clearance number for the device as of this writing.

The clearance covers M•care for outpatient antenatal monitoring — the same category of test as an in-clinic non-stress test — in pregnancies of 32 weeks' gestation and beyond, the population Marani studied in its pivotal trial, NCT05294211, which set out to show the M•wrap's fetal and maternal heart-rate readings agreed with a standard hospital cardiotocography monitor within 15 and 10 beats per minute respectively. Marani has not published the study's results.

“FDA clearance is a pivotal milestone for Marani and the culmination of years of technology and product development… This is the moment when M•care moves from an innovative technology we’ve been developing to a commercial solution we can begin bringing to patients, providers and health systems.” Ann Holder, Founder and CEO, Marani Health — 24 September 2026 announcement

M•care's clearance in four figures

2018founded as Odonata Health, spun out of Mayo Clinic's entrepreneur-in-residence program
$18.3Mdisclosed across three funding events since 2021, most recently a 2024 convertible note
15 bpmthe fetal heart-rate agreement limit Marani set against a hospital CTG monitor in its FDA study
2027the year Marani has targeted for M•care's commercial launch

Figures from Marani Health's public funding announcements, its NCT05294211 study registration and its 24 September 2026 clearance announcement.

Three signals from one band around the waist

Where a hospital non-stress test typically pairs a contraction belt with a separate fetal Doppler, M•wrap combines fetal heart rate, maternal heart rate and uterine-contraction sensing into a single band worn under clothing, paired to a smartphone app that logs fetal movement and shows the wearer her own average heart rate; a clinician reviews the full tracing separately through the M•care Provider Portal, according to Medical Device Network's report on the clearance.

Three things Marani is betting on

Three signals, one band

M•wrap's electrodes capture fetal heart rate, maternal heart rate and uterine contractions from a single band worn on the abdomen, rather than the separate belts and leads a hospital non-stress test uses.

A prescribed test, not a wellness score

M•care is built to deliver the same prescribed antenatal test as an in-person non-stress test, read through a provider portal, rather than a consumer wellness metric sold off a shelf.

A Mayo Clinic pedigree

Marani grew out of Mayo Clinic's entrepreneur-in-residence program and has since run a maternal-hypertension pilot with UnityPoint Health and a CDC-funded maternal-health-desert study with Ouma Health and the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

A market split between wellness and prescription

Home fetal monitoring already has a crowded consumer corner — heart-rate clip-ons and kick counters sold with no FDA review at all — and a much smaller cleared, prescription corner where M•care is trying to land. Nuvo Group's INVU and Bloomlife have each won their own FDA clearances for wearable maternal-fetal monitoring in the past several years, meaning M•care would be the field's third rather than its first entrant, competing on which provider workflows and payers it can reach rather than on being alone in the category.

Home fetal monitoring's uneven price tags

$4.69B → $8.06B

Remote pregnancy monitoring, 2024 to 2032, as forecast by DataBridge Market Research, alongside a narrower estimate for wireless maternal-fetal monitoring systems specifically.

2024$4.69B
2025 (narrower segment)$3.65B
2030 (narrower segment)$5.95B
2032$8.06B

Sources: DataBridge Market Research, Global Remote Pregnancy Monitoring Market · Wireless Maternal-Fetal Monitoring Systems market report, via OpenPR

Regulatory News outlook

We expect the clinically-prescribed slice of home fetal monitoring — as opposed to consumer wellness wearables — to reach roughly $2.7 billion in annual spend by 2032, split across Marani and the small number of other FDA-cleared home-monitoring makers rather than owned by any one of them.

How we got here: DataBridge's $8.06 billion 2032 remote-pregnancy-monitoring figure spans both consumer wellness trackers and clinically-prescribed monitoring; treating clinically-prescribed use as roughly a third of that total — our own estimate, given how few FDA-cleared entrants exist against a much larger field of uncleared wellness wearables — implies about $2.7 billion by 2032.

M•care against the home monitors already cleared

ProductFormSignals capturedSettingU.S. regulatory status
M•care (Marani Health)Wearable abdominal band (M•wrap) plus app and provider portalFetal heart rate, maternal heart rate, uterine contractionsHome, prescribedFDA 510(k) cleared September 2026; pre-commercial
INVU (Nuvo Group)Wearable sensor bandFetal heart rate, maternal heart rate, uterine activity (supplemental clearance)Home, prescribedFDA-cleared; commercially available
BloomlifeWearable patch/bandMaternal and fetal heart rate; broader non-stress-test indication reported pendingHome, prescribedFDA-cleared for heart-rate monitoring
Sonio Detect/SuspectAI ultrasound-interpretation softwareUltrasound image analysis, not continuous monitoringClinic ultrasound suiteFDA-cleared; different modality

From each company's own labelling and announcements; not a clinical comparison.

What 2027 needs to go right

Marani says it is preparing M•care for commercial availability in 2027, without a more specific date. The company has not disclosed a sales or reimbursement strategy, pricing, or which health systems beyond UnityPoint Health have committed to using it in practice rather than in a pilot.

  • Commercial launch: targeted for 2027; no firm date, distribution channel or price disclosed.
  • Regulatory record: FDA's 510(k) database has not yet indexed a clearance number for M•care; Regulatory News will update this page when it appears.
  • Funding: at least $18.3 million disclosed since 2021 across a 2021 seed round and a 2024 convertible note; Marani has not disclosed a valuation.
  • Clinical evidence: the company's pivotal study, NCT05294211, has not published patient-level results.

What the record does not yet show: how M•care's fetal and maternal heart-rate readings performed against the hospital monitor it was built to match, which health systems beyond UnityPoint Health have committed to using it in practice rather than in a pilot, and what a home version of a hospital-grade test will cost a payer to prescribe.

Sources & further reading

  1. Marani Health, “Marani Health Receives FDA Clearance for M•care System, Clearing the Path Toward Commercial Launch,” press release, 24 September 2026. prnewswire.com
  2. Medical Device Network, “FDA clears Marani Health maternal remote monitoring system,” 2026. medicaldevice-network.com
  3. Marani Health, NCT05294211, “Safety and Performance of a Fetal Monitoring System,” ClinicalTrials.gov, completed 24 January 2023. clinicaltrials.gov
  4. FinSMEs, “Marani Health Raises $7.6M in Seed Funding,” 16 November 2021. finsmes.com
  5. Marani Health, “Marani Health Closes $7M Convertible Note, Adds Board Member,” May 2024. maranihealth.com
  6. Marani Health, “Marani Health and Ouma Health Awarded $5 Million CDC Grant,” October 2024. maranihealth.com
  7. Star Tribune, “Maternal health mortality problem in America: A Minnesota startup is trying to help solve it,” profile of Marani Health. startribune.com
  8. DataBridge Market Research, “Global Remote Pregnancy Monitoring Market.” databridgemarketresearch.com
  9. Nuvo Group, “Nuvo Group Receives FDA Clearance for its INVU Remote Pregnancy Monitoring System,” press release. prnewswire.com
  10. Pharmaceutical Executive, “Bloomlife's Maternal and Fetal Monitoring Device Receives FDA Approval.” pharmexec.com

Regulatory News reports on public regulatory documents. It is not legal advice, and the primary sources above govern. If we have made an error, we will say so in public: see corrections.

Frequently asked questions

What did FDA clear for Marani Health?

The M•care System (MW-20), including the M•wrap wearable, a band that captures fetal heart rate, maternal heart rate and uterine contractions and sends them to a clinician through the M•care Provider Portal. The clearance was announced on 24 September 2026.

Is M•care available to patients yet?

No. Marani says it is preparing the cleared system for commercial availability in 2027; it has not disclosed a launch date, distribution channel or price.

Is Marani the first company with a cleared home fetal monitor?

No. Nuvo Group's INVU and Bloomlife each already hold their own FDA clearances for wearable maternal-fetal monitoring. M•care would be the field's third cleared entrant, competing on sensor design, signals captured and health-system partnerships rather than on being alone in the category.

What did Marani's pivotal study measure?

NCT05294211 tested whether M•wrap's fetal and maternal heart-rate readings agreed with a standard hospital cardiotocography monitor, in pregnancies of 32 weeks' gestation and beyond. Marani has not published the study's results.