Estuary Biotherapeutics has emerged from stealth with $103 million in total committed financing to develop gene therapies for autosomal dominant polycystic kidney disease, the most common inherited kidney disorder. The Menlo Park, California company announced the raise — a $93 million Series A layered on an earlier $10 million seed round — on 16 October 2026, naming RA Capital Management as Series A lead.

The kidney disease drug market Estuary is entering

Autosomal dominant polycystic kidney disease has had exactly one FDA-approved, disease-specific drug since 2018: Otsuka's Jynarque (tolvaptan), a vasopressin V2-receptor antagonist that slows cyst growth rather than addressing its genetic cause. Jynarque generated an estimated $1.467 billion in U.S. sales in fiscal 2024, by Lupin's own account, before Lupin's generic tolvaptan launched in May 2025 under 180-day exclusivity — the first real price competition the branded drug has faced. DelveInsight separately sized the broader seven-country ADPKD drug market at roughly $1.48 billion in 2023, the most recent year it has published, meaning Jynarque's U.S. revenue alone approaches the published size of the entire global category.

What the ADPKD drug category looks like today

$1.48B

Global (US, EU4, UK, Japan) ADPKD drug market, 2023, as estimated by DelveInsight, against Jynarque's own reported FY2024 U.S.-only sales.

Jynarque, US, FY2024$1.47B
ADPKD market, 7MM, 2023$1.48B

Sources: Lupin Limited, FY2024 U.S. Jynarque (tolvaptan) sales disclosure · DelveInsight, Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease Market Insight, Epidemiology and Market Forecast — 2034

Regulatory News outlook

We expect gene therapy's earliest possible clinical entry in 2027 to land just as tolvaptan's branded exclusivity keeps eroding to generics, widening the opening for a disease-modifying alternative rather than another symptom-slowing option; EST-201 and EST-101 would compete less on near-term sales than on whether a one-time gene therapy can be shown to change disease trajectory, the same bar every ADPKD pipeline program on DelveInsight's list is trying to clear.

How we got here: Lupin's own disclosures put FY2024 U.S. Jynarque sales at $1.467 billion, essentially matching DelveInsight's $1.476 billion estimate for the entire seven-country ADPKD drug market in 2023, the most recent year published; we read that gap — one generic entrant's scale against the whole category's most recently published size — as the near-term opportunity tolvaptan's genericization opens, rather than compute a separate dollar forecast of our own.

EST-201 against what else is treating ADPKD

ProgramModalityStageSponsor
EST-201 (Estuary)AAV gene therapy, full-length PKD2 genePreclinical; clinical entry targeted for 2027Estuary Biotherapeutics
Jynarque (tolvaptan)Oral vasopressin V2-receptor antagonistApproved 2018; genericized May 2025Otsuka / Lupin (generic)
VX-407Small-molecule corrector of misfolded PC1 proteinPhase 2a (AGLOW study); PKD1-variant subset onlyVertex Pharmaceuticals

From each company’s own labelling, filings and clinical-trial registrations; not a clinical comparison.

Replacing a gene instead of blocking a hormone

ADPKD is caused almost entirely by mutations in one of two genes: PKD1, estimated in published genetics literature to account for roughly 75–85% of cases and associated with faster progression to kidney failure, and PKD2, the remainder, associated with a markedly slower course. Estuary's two lead programs mirror that split. EST-201 delivers a full-length, functional copy of the PKD2 gene using an adeno-associated virus (AAV) vector — a direct gene-replacement approach. EST-101 takes a different route for the larger PKD1 population, delivering a functional region derived from the polycystin-1 protein that PKD1 encodes, also via AAV, rather than the full-length gene. Both aim at restoring kidney cell function at its genetic source, instead of Jynarque's approach of blocking the vasopressin receptor to slow fluid accumulation in cysts.

“ADPKD is one of the world’s most common genetic diseases, yet patients are still awaiting a therapy that can transform the course of their disease.” Wayne Sackett, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Estuary Biotherapeutics — 16 October 2026 launch announcement

Estuary's launch, in four figures

$103Mtotal committed financing at launch ($93M Series A + $10M seed)
2AAV gene therapy programs, targeting PKD2 and PKD1
2027targeted clinical entry for the lead program
1 in 400–1,000people worldwide estimated to have ADPKD, per NIDDK-cited figures

Figures from Estuary’s 16 October 2026 launch announcement and NIDDK-cited ADPKD prevalence estimates.

What Estuary is betting its genetic split on

Targets the root gene

Both programs aim to restore PKD1 or PKD2 function directly, rather than manage a downstream symptom the way tolvaptan does.

Two programs, two genes

Splitting EST-201 (PKD2) and EST-101 (PKD1) lets Estuary pursue the genetically distinct, faster- and slower-progressing forms of ADPKD separately rather than with one therapy.

$103 million before a single trial

The round funds both programs through clinical proof of concept, not just a first readout, and draws a mix of life-science investors, a disease-foundation fund and a patient-connected family office.

From a Yale kidney lab to a nine-figure launch

Estuary's road to launch

  1. Pre-2026

    Scientific origins at Yale

    Co-founders Stefan Somlo and Michael Caplan, both at the Yale School of Medicine, contribute the PKD1/PKD2 biology underlying Estuary's gene therapy approach.

  2. Seed round

    $10 million seed financing

    GV and 4BIO Capital co-lead an initial $10 million seed round, date not disclosed in the launch announcement.

  3. 16 October 2026

    Public launch with $103M

    Estuary emerges from stealth with a $93 million Series A led by RA Capital Management, naming Wayne Sackett as co-founder and CEO.

  4. Ahead

    Clinical entry targeted for 2027

    The company has said it is targeting 2027 for its lead program to reach the clinic, subject to regulatory clearance of an investigational application it has not yet announced.

What a $103 million round still has to prove

A nine-figure launch round buys Estuary time and two parallel programs, not clinical data. Neither EST-201 nor EST-101 has dosed a patient, the company has not disclosed when it will file an investigational new drug application for either program, and AAV gene therapy for kidney disease carries its own open questions — how efficiently an AAV vector can reach and transduce kidney cells being chief among them, a challenge distinct from the liver- and muscle-targeted gene therapies that have reached approval in other diseases. The $103 million is earmarked to fund both programs through clinical proof of concept, which is still a interim milestone, not a launch.

  • What changed: Estuary Biotherapeutics launched publicly with $103 million in total committed financing.
  • Programs: EST-201 (PKD2 gene therapy) and EST-101 (PKD1-derived gene therapy), both AAV-delivered and both preclinical.
  • Target: clinical entry for the lead program in 2027, subject to regulatory clearance not yet announced.
  • Not yet public: an IND filing date, a lead program between EST-201 and EST-101, or any preclinical efficacy data, which this article has not independently confirmed.

Sources & further reading

  1. Fierce Biotech, “Estuary flows out of stealth with $103M for its gene therapies for kidney disease,” 16 October 2026. fiercebiotech.com
  2. BioPharma Dive, “Estuary launches with gene therapies for kidney disease, emerging from a Biogen-backed biotech,” October 2026. biopharmadive.com
  3. Pulse2, “Estuary Biotherapeutics Launches With $103 Million To Develop Gene Therapies For Kidney Disease,” October 2026. pulse2.com
  4. Lupin Limited, disclosure of FY2024 U.S. Jynarque (tolvaptan) sales and 180-day generic exclusivity launch, May 2025. lupin.com
  5. DelveInsight, “Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease Market Insight, Epidemiology and Market Forecast — 2034.” delveinsight.com
  6. Vertex Pharmaceuticals, VX-407 ADPKD program overview and AGLOW Phase 2a study (NCT07161037). vrtx.com
  7. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), polycystic kidney disease prevalence estimates. niddk.nih.gov
  8. Karger, “Mutation Analysis of PKD1 and PKD2 Genes” (PKD1/PKD2 proportion of ADPKD cases and relative disease course). karger.com

Regulatory News reports on public regulatory documents. It is not legal advice, and the primary sources above govern. If we have made an error, we will say so in public: see corrections.

Frequently asked questions

How much did Estuary Biotherapeutics raise, and from whom?

$103 million in total committed financing: a $93 million Series A led by RA Capital Management, layered on an earlier $10 million seed round co-led by 4BIO Capital and GV. Other participants include Deep Track Capital, Biogen New Ventures, UPMC Enterprises, Pivotal bioVenture Partners, the National Kidney Foundation Innovation Fund, and a family office connected to a person living with ADPKD.

What is Estuary developing, and is it in clinical trials yet?

Two AAV-delivered gene therapies for autosomal dominant polycystic kidney disease (ADPKD): EST-201, a full-length PKD2 gene therapy, and EST-101, which delivers a functional region derived from the polycystin-1 (PKD1) protein. Neither program has entered clinical trials; the company has said it is targeting clinical entry for its lead program in 2027.

What is ADPKD, and how is Estuary's approach different from the only approved drug?

Autosomal dominant polycystic kidney disease is an inherited disorder in which fluid-filled cysts progressively enlarge the kidneys and impair function, eventually leading to kidney failure in many patients. The only FDA-approved ADPKD-specific drug, Otsuka's Jynarque (tolvaptan), slows cyst growth by blocking a hormone receptor; Estuary's gene therapies aim instead to replace or restore the function of the PKD1 or PKD2 genes whose mutations cause the disease.

Is Estuary a public company?

No. Estuary Biotherapeutics is privately held; this financing is a private Series A round, not a public offering.